Following the Conservative victory in Northamptonshire in the local election, the cabinet has been announced.

Cllr Heather Smith will remain leader of the council, and she said: “I am delighted to announce this team of cabinet members and I have every confidence that it is the right line-up to take us forward as we embark on the huge challenges and transformation which stands before us. A year ago when I became council leader I made some significant changes to the cabinet and I believe that now is not the time for a major reshuffle. This is a team that I can work with and which works well with the many officers that help deliver the diverse services we run for the people of the county.”

The cabinet is as follows:

  • Cllr Heather Smith – Leader of the council
  • Cllr Matt Golby – Deputy Leader and cabinet member for children’s services
  • Cllr Andre Gonzalez de Savage – Cabinet member for public protection
  • Cllr Robin Brown – Cabinet member for finance
  • Cllr Ian Morris – Cabinet member for transport, highways and environment
  • Cllr Bill Parker – Cabinet member for adult social care
  • Cllr Sylvia Hughes – Cabinet member for public health and wellbeing

The Conservatives won 43 out of the 57 seats.